Dangerous heat continues today in New Jersey for the first day of summer

‘Don’t travel. Period.’ Gov. Murphy discourages any New Jerseyans from leaving the region

With an uncontrolled spread of COVID-19 across nearly every state, the Murphy administration has a simple message: “Don’t travel. Period.”

News 12 Staff

Dec 3, 2020, 1:00 PM

Updated 1,295 days ago


New Jersey’s travel advisory had included as many as 46 states and territories at one point as COVID-19 cases rose around the country.
But now with an uncontrolled spread across nearly every state, the Murphy administration has a simple message: “Don’t travel. Period.”
“If you do travel outside our immediate area, or if you are coming into New Jersey from another state, we strongly encourage you to observe a 14-day self-quarantine period and at the right point, get tested,” Murphy said Wednesday at his COVID-19 briefing.
Click or tap the photo below to view the briefing
Dec. 2, 2020 COVID-19 briefing
Most Jersey travelers head to neighboring states like New York or Pennsylvania, right across the river from Trenton. The governor says there's an exception for transient travel, which is travel to another state that is for a verifiable reason and brings one there and back in less than a day.
“But the spirit of this is you’re going for a reason that’s real and you’re in and out the same day,” Murphy said.
New Jersey along with New York and Connecticut unveiled a travel advisory in June, cautioning against travel to states with significant community spread of the virus. The list started with nine states but ballooned as a second wave of coronavirus ravaged the whole country.
"It was and remains our sole objective to protect public health either from folks who are Jerseyans who have traveled out or visitors who are coming in. That's been the spirit of this from Day 1,” Murphy said.
The travel advisory contains exemptions for health care workers, law enforcement and members of the military.

More from News 12