HEAT ALERT

Heat advisory continues in New Jersey as highs approach near 100 degrees

Legislation now requires NJ schools to teach students about coping with death

The first-of-its-kind law in the U.S. is supposed to help those in grades 8 - 12 deal with the physical and emotional symptoms of losing a loved one, ways of coping and share resources, including group therapy.

Rob Taub

Jan 18, 2024, 10:24 PM

Updated 155 days ago

Share:

A new law signed by Gov. Phil Murphy now requires all New Jersey schools to teach about dealing with death.
The first-of-its-kind law in the U.S. is supposed to help those in grades 8 - 12 deal with the physical and emotional symptoms of losing a loved one, ways of coping and share resources, including group therapy.
"I think this law can be transformative for young people but also for the state of New Jersey,” said Good Grief director of Learning and Content Strategy Evelynn Moon. “I see this as a first step to starting to break open that stigma of our reluctance to talk about things like loss, grief and death.”
Good Grief has been working with young people through offices in Morristown and Princeton for 20 years.


More from News 12