Eight NJ counties under quarantine for spotted lanternfly. If you see one, officials say to destroy it

Eight counties across New Jersey are under quarantine for the spotted lanternfly.
The counties are Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Hunterdon, Mercer, Salem, Somerset, and Warren.
If you live in those areas, make sure you inspect your cars, outdoor furniture, fire wood, lawn equipment, and destroy one if you see it.
The spotted lanternfly is an invasive species native to China, India and Vietnam. It was first discovered in the United States in Pennsylvania and has since spread to eight other states, including New Jersey.
According to the New Jersey Department of Agriculture, the insect has the potential to impact agricultural crops and trees.
Anyone who sees a spotted lanternfly should report it to the state using the state's reporting tool.