News 12's Most-Viewed: #8 - New Jersey's Paid Sick Leave Act to go into effect in 10 days
News 12 Digital is highlighting the most-viewed stories of 2018 as part of our 'News 12's Most-Viewed' series. This story on New Jersey's Paid Sick Leave Act was originally published Oct. 19. Original story below.
New Jersey's Paid Sick Leave Act is expected to go into effect in 10 days.
The law signed by Gov. Phil Murphy back in May allows workers to accrue sick time if they couldn't in the past.
It allows them to earn one hour of leave for every 30 hours they work.
But some business owners argue their payroll administrators haven't had enough time to prepare.
They say the change will be challenging and costly.
"It encompasses part-time and full-time employees, and it's not just a paid sick leave, it's more like a paid time off law," says Theresa Belles, owner of Bliss Hair Studio by Teri.
Companies will also be required to provide a maximum of five paid sick days a year, and companies that don't comply with the law will be penalized.
According to officials in Trenton, it's the broadest and strongest law of its kind in the U.S.
The law applies to part-time as well as full-time employees.