How old . . . is too old? Virginia town makes it illegal to trick-or-treat over 14 years old

A law in Chesapeake, Virginia that has been around for more than 50 years makes it illegal to trick-or-treat if you're older than 14 years old.

News 12 Staff

Oct 24, 2019, 11:29 AM

Updated 1,680 days ago

Share:

A law in Chesapeake, Virginia that has been around for more than 50 years makes it illegal to trick-or-treat if you're older than 14 years old.
The law has been on the books for more than a half century following a violent Halloween back in 1968.
You can be fined $250 if you break the law.
But since it has been a law, nobody has been fined for illegal trick-or-treating.
Police admit they don't even patrol neighborhoods or ask kids to see how old they are.


More from News 12