Van's recalls gluten free waffles it says may actually contain gluten

Posted: Updated:
EDISON -

Van's Foods is voluntarily recalling 1,584 cases of its gluten-free waffles in 13 states, including New Jersey and New York, because they may, in fact, not be gluten-free. The company says that they may also contain milk, contrary to what the label says.

Van's says some of its regular waffles were inadvertently packaged in gluten-free containers.The company says people who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to milk or gluten run the risk of serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they consume these products

The recalled waffles have a lot code date of #A640234710–WL2, and are marked "best by Aug 22, 2018" with a UPC code of 8994730206.  

sorry to interrupt
your first 20 are free
Access to News 12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Spectrum Networks® and Service ElectricSM customers.
Please enjoy 20 complimentary views of articles, photos, and videos during the next 30 days.
you have reached your 20 view limit
Access to News 12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Spectrum Networks® and Service ElectricSM customers.
Please login or create an account to continue enjoying News12.
Our sign-up page is undergoing maintenance and is not currently available. However, you will be given direct access to news12.com while we complete our upgrade.
When we are back up and running you will be prompted at that time to complete your sign in. Until then, enjoy the local news, weather, traffic and more that's "as local as local news gets."