Concerns grow over Uber’s ability to track riders after trip ends

There has been growing concern over a recent Uber update that allows the ride-sharing company to track riders for several minutes after they leave the car.



Uber says that the ability to track its customers for five minutes after a trip ends is for safety, fraud prevention and to help find its riders better. But some customers are worried it may be an invasion of privacy.



Drawing Board Media, a web and mobile app development company, says if a customer is bothered by this, the easiest thing to do is turn off the smartphone's location services.



"They can also disable background apps from running without them being aware of it. Inside IOS, there's a feature for background services that they can turn off in their settings. And in Android devices, there's a program called Greenify that also helps," says president Ed Gutierrez.



Several privacy companies have filed a lawsuit with the FTC.


sorry to interrupt
your first 20 are free
Access to News 12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Time Warner® and Service ElectricSM customers.
Please enjoy 20 complimentary views of articles, photos, and videos during the next 30 days.
you have reached your 5 view limit
Access to News 12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Time Warner® and Service ElectricSM customers.
Please login, create an account or subscribe to continue enjoying News12.
Our sign-up page is undergoing maintenance and is not currently available. However, you will be given direct access to news12.com while we complete our upgrade.
When we are back up and running you will be prompted at that time to complete your sign in. Until then, enjoy the local news, weather, traffic and more that's "as local as local news gets."