EDISON - The National Weather Service has canceled a tornado watch for Mercer, Monmouth, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Morris, Somerset, Sussex, Warren, Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Cumberland, Salem, Ocean and Cape May counties.

A tornado watch remains in effect, however, until 6 p.m. for Passaic, Essex, Hudson, Union and Bergen counties.

A tornado watch means conditions are favorable for tornadoes and severe thunderstorms.

News 12 New Jersey Meteorologist Dave Curren says gusty winds, hail and lightning are possible throughout the state.

News 12 New Jersey Weather CenterPSE&GJCP&LState of NJ Board of UtilitiesNJEmergency Management AssociationNJ Office of Emergency ManagementRedCross of Central New JerseyTri-CountyRed CrossNJ Transit Service AdvisoriesPATH Advisories