Smokers could be fined for smoking in cars with kids

A new proposal would make it illegal to smoke cigarettes inside a car if one of the passengers is younger than 16 years old.

Smokers could be fined for smoking in cars with kids under 16 years of age.

Smokers could be fined for smoking in cars with kids under 16 years of age. (6/2/15)

TRENTON - Some New Jersey lawmakers want to add more restrictions to where people are allowed to smoke.

A new proposal would make it illegal to smoke cigarettes inside a car if one of the passengers is younger than 16 years old.

Smokers who violate the rule would be fined $100, but would not get any points on their license.

The bill has yet to come up for a hearing in the legislature.

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Trending Video

On The Road: Point Pleasant Beach preview 1 On The Road: Point Pleasant Beach preview
Fire crews battled a large brush fire in 2 Crews battle brush fire in Keyport
Their longtime coach Eddie Franz recently revealed he 3 Morristown-Beard basketball coach battles lung cancer
Joe Hornick from West Long Branch says that 4 Man ticketed for flying Trump flag
Don Bosco alumni defend longtime coach after departure 5 Don Bosco alumni defend longtime coach after departure

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Features

It's good to know you have Walt Kane Kane in Your Corner

It's good to know you have Walt Kane in your corner.

News 12 takes a look at the hottest Tech Check

Eric Landskroner has a look at the latest gadgets and biggest stories in tech.

News 12 On the Scene

Check out these exclusive videos from New Jersey celebs!

Sorry to interrupt...

Your first 5 are free

Access to News12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Time Warner® and Service Electric℠ video customers.

Please enjoy 5 complimentary views to articles, photos, and videos during the next 30 days.

LOGIN SUBSCRIBE