Rent and don't have heat? Be sure to read this!

PISCATAWAY - Many renters in New Jersey are having problems with their heat as temperatures dip across the Garden State.

By law, New Jersey landlords are required to keep tenants' apartments at 68 degrees from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. Overnight, it can be no lower than 65 degrees.

Renters with heat problems can reach out to their local health department or housing inspector to file a complaint. If a timely fix isn't made, landlords can face fines, court summonses and even jail time.

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Trending Video

St. Joseph High School student Matthew Hall visited 1 Teen battling cancer thanks medical team as he prepares to attend prom
The owner of Jewelry Expo in Union Township 2 Sleight-of-hand thieves steal $10K worth of jewelry
News 12 New Jersey - Weather On The 3 New Jersey Weather Forecast
The event, which is only in its second 4 Central NJ brain tumor walked held in Asbury Park
A possible protest is taking shape among transit 5 Commuters threaten possible 'No Pay May' protest on NJ Transit

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Features

It's good to know you have Walt Kane Kane in Your Corner

It's good to know you have Walt Kane in your corner.

News 12 takes a look at the hottest Tech Check

Eric Landskroner has a look at the latest gadgets and biggest stories in tech.

News 12 On the Scene

Check out these exclusive videos from New Jersey celebs!

Sorry to interrupt...

Your first 5 are free

Access to News12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Time Warner® and Service Electric℠ video customers.

Please enjoy 5 complimentary views to articles, photos, and videos during the next 30 days.

LOGIN SUBSCRIBE