NJ raises fines for using phones while driving

Higher fines take effect Tuesday for motorists caught

Higher fines take effect Tuesday for motorists caught talking or texting on handheld devices.

TRENTON - (AP) - Motorists who can't put down their cellphones face tougher penalties in New Jersey.

Higher fines take effect Tuesday for motorists caught talking or texting on handheld devices.

First-time offenders would have to pay a fine of between $200 and $400. Drivers convicted of a second offense would have to pay between $400 and $600. Motorists convicted of a third and subsequent offenses would face a fine of $600 to $800, might lose their licenses for 90 days and have three points assessed against their driving records.

Some police departments plan to increase patrols.

Police issued roughly 3,000 summonses statewide for cellphone and electronic device violations as part of a crackdown in April.

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Trending Video

One person was killed in a shooting on 1 At least 1 dead in Thursday night Newark shooting
VIDEO: Interview with SUNY Old Westbury President Dr. 2 VIDEO: Interview with SUNY Old Westbury president
VIDEO: Interview with former Suffolk County Executive Steve 3 VIDEO: Interview with former Suffolk County Executive Steve Levy
News 12 speaks with residents about what they 4 Hudson Valley Talks Trump: Tax plan
5 New Jersey Sportscast, April 27

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Features

It's good to know you have Walt Kane Kane in Your Corner

It's good to know you have Walt Kane in your corner.

News 12 takes a look at the hottest Tech Check

Eric Landskroner has a look at the latest gadgets and biggest stories in tech.

News 12 On the Scene

Check out these exclusive videos from New Jersey celebs!

Sorry to interrupt...

Your first 5 are free

Access to News12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Time Warner® and Service Electric℠ video customers.

Please enjoy 5 complimentary views to articles, photos, and videos during the next 30 days.

LOGIN SUBSCRIBE