NJ panel approves tougher driver cell phone law

Drivers caught talking or texting on their cell phones in New Jersey may soon face increased fines and license suspensions.A measure approved 5-0 Monday by

TRENTON - Drivers caught talking or texting on their cell phones in New Jersey may soon face increased fines and license suspensions.

A measure approved 5-0 Monday by the Senate Law and Public Safety Committee would increase fines for violators from $100 to $200 for the first offense.

A second offense would get a $400 fine, while a third violation would mean a $600 fine.

Violators also could have their driver's license suspended for 90 days for the third and subsequent violations. They also would receive three points on their license.

The bill now heads to the full Senate, where a similar measure was approved in 2010. A similar bill is in the Assembly.

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Trending Video

VIDEO: Chopper 12 over East Brunswick bus crash 1 VIDEO: Chopper 12 over East Brunswick bus crash
Shooting leaves 3 dead in Jersey City 2 Sources: Triple shooting leaves 1 dead in Jersey City
Vandals defaced historic trains belonging to the United 3 Vandals deface historic train equipment in Boonton
Shooting leaves 3 dead in Jersey City 4 Shooting leaves 3 dead in Jersey City
Chopper 12 over wreck that killed NASCAR driver 5 Chopper 12 over wreck that killed NASCAR driver Jason Leffler

advertisement | advertise on News 12

Features

It's good to know you have Walt Kane Kane in Your Corner

It's good to know you have Walt Kane in your corner.

News 12 takes a look at the hottest Tech Check

Eric Landskroner has a look at the latest gadgets and biggest stories in tech.

News 12 On the Scene

Check out these exclusive videos from New Jersey celebs!

Sorry to interrupt...

Your first 5 are free

Access to News12 is free for Optimum, Comcast®, Time Warner® and Service Electric℠ video customers.

Please enjoy 5 complimentary views to articles, photos, and videos during the next 30 days.

LOGIN SUBSCRIBE