NEWARK - (AP) - President Obama has issued a major disasterdeclaration for New Jersey for the late October snowstorm thatplayed havoc with roads, trees and power lines around the state.

The declaration issued Wednesday evening paves the way for therelease of federal disaster funds. It covers Cape May, Essex,Hunterdon, Morris, Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren Counties.

Sens. Frank Lautenberg and Robert Menendez and Gov. ChrisChristie had written the president to request the disasterdesignation.

The freak autumn snowstorm dumped 19 inches of snow on someareas. Schools closed, train service was suspended in some parts ofthe state and more than 700,000 were left without electricity, somefor several days.

JCP&L restores power lost in fall snowstormSchools low on snow days after October snowstorm