TRENTON - Lawmakers and party officials have selected a panel of six Democrats and six Republicans that will redraw New Jersey's congressional districts.

The districts are redrawn once a decade following the U.S. Census. The Garden State is losing one of its 13 districts this year because of population shifts.

Republicans chose Michael DuHaime, a top political adviser to the governor; activist Sherine El-Abd; former Burlington County freeholder Aubrey Fenton; attorney Eric Jaso; former Cape MayCounty Freeholder Sue Sheppard, and Assemblywoman Carolina Casagrande.

Democrats selected former Assembly Speaker Joseph Roberts Jr.; Essex County Democratic Chairman Phil Thigpen; Ed Farmer, a former staffer for Congressman Bill Pascrell; Assemblywoman Nilsa Cruz-Perez; Assemblyman Michael Baker, and Jeannine Frisby LaRue, aformer deputy chief of staff to Gov. Jon Corzine.

If the 12-member panel can't come to a decision, a 13th member will be chosen by the state Supreme Court. The commission has until Jan. 17 to redraw the districts.

AP wire services contributed to this report.