TRENTON - New Jersey is cracking down on drivers who stay in the left lane.
Gov. Chris Christie has signed into law a bill that raises the penalties for violating the state's keep-right law from $50 and $200 to between $100 and $300.
Drivers in New Jersey are required to stay in the right lane unless they are passing slower traffic.
Assemblyman Declan O’Scanlon, one of the bill’s sponsors, says staying in the left lane creates a dangerous situation for motorists.